Rising Sun Exhibition – City of Women (1992)

God only knows why I was placed on this earth to be a feminist.

But I am…. So here goes……

Back in 1992 at the Rising Sun Arts Centre I created a drawing of a city inside a women…..plus an installation project……..well all hell let loose…. and the subsequent 3 press cuttings that accompany this blog were written. Looking back now some 25 years later I realise just how misunderstood my passion for feminism was – so wishing to put some wrongs to right I will attempt to express the aim of such a project together with why these ideas are still important today.

As artists…. we try to express ourselves with ink, clay, words and so much more. All I was trying to express with city of women is that there is a world within a woman… a world where women believe they have the right to draw their own red lines and claim their own safe spaces.

Bella Opacic (2016)

Leave a comment